If I were an Athiest – I’d be afraid of Classical & Christian Schools too!

These very conservative schools are cropping up all over the country see here

Many of these schools are connected with Churches who help to sponsor low income families…

I once heard one insider say 399 of that churches 400 children were students in their school. (the one that didn’t come, wanted to go some ware else, even though they offered it to the family for free)

If I was an atheist this would scare the dickens out of me!

As one person said on another website – “you gotta love atheists. they complain about Christians being so uneducated and irrational. I went to a humanistic, atheist public school for 12 years and was NEVER offered logic. – boobs”

______________

 

I would also be afraid of schools like Patrick Henry College as well: (PHC is a non-classical)

6 Responses

  1. onein6,

    See my last entries at the Expelled post.

  2. “If I was an atheist this would scare the dickens out of me!”

    No, no, no. I am in favor of every student getting the best education possible. There are many purposes for educating students in K-12. In general, students in K-12 learn reading, writing, and arithmetic. And a few scientific and historical facts. So it is a start in preparing them for the rest of their lives.

    And I believe that students who are home schooled or in church-sponsored schools get a better education (in general) than they would in the public schools.

    But, the fact remains, that if/when you send one of your students to a university in a scientific discipline that really explains and uses evolution, they are likely to come back and ask you – “why did you lie to me?”

  3. onein6,

    “why did you lie to me?”

    Funny isn’t it, that is the same kind of thing I say about my government school indoctrination, oops I mean… education (when it comes to history as well as evolutionary science)….. “why did you lie to me?”

    “I myself am convinced that the theory of evolution, especially the extent to which it’s been applied, will be one of the great jokes in the history books of the future. Posterity will marvel that so very flimsy and dubious of a hypothesis could be accepted with the incredible credulity that it has.”
    Malcom Muggeridge

  4. “that is the same kind of thing I say about my government school indoctrination”

    But you are not qualified to judge – you simply have an uniformed opinion.

    http://www.don-lindsay-archive.org/creation/quote_muggeridge.html

    From that web site:

    “When he was alive, I read some of his columns, and saw him on TV. To the best of my knowledge, he went to his grave without bothering to learn anything about science. The quoted opinion was not an informed opinion. ”

    From another web site:

    “And Malcolm Muggeridge was not a scientist at all, but a Christian journalist, so I fail to see the relevance of his opinion at all.”

  5. “flimsy and dubious of a hypothesis”

    I agree with Muggeridge…

    And highly “subjective” and “speculative” to say the least…

    Besides if atheism is true, why does anything “ultimately” matter anyhow?

    If atheism is true, Is there any “ultimate” meaning?

    Lar

  6. “If atheism is true, Is there any “ultimate” meaning?”

    Of course evolution forces atheism (even though a lot of scientists claim they are Christians), so this ultimate question does go back to evolution. Or maybe not.

    But reverse the question – if Christianity or Islam or Judaism or Buddhism is true, is there any ultimate meaning, and if so, what is that meaning? That the chosen will go to heaven and the infidels will go to hell? That “end times” will occur in 2012 (according to the Mayan calendar)? Why is one religion better than the others?

    So the bottom line is: “ultimate meaning” seems to be yet another religious nonsense question. And atheism is not a religion.

Leave a Reply

