Living in Light of Judgment Day…

Often I ponder the things I will have to give an account for on judgment day, not only my sin, but my responsibilities as well…

As I get older, my thoughts turn to higher things; What have I done with the life God has given to me so far, and what will I do with the rest of my life.

I remind myself that I have been entrusted by God with life, time, and resources, and I will have to give an account of each of these; I ask myself, did I use them selfishly and squander them on myself or did I use them to cultivate and grow the Kingdom of Jesus Christ. Did I make this world richer or did I take and make it poorer ?

I feel the “weight” of these gifts that I have been given and the responsibility and trust they come with…

Whenever I meditate on all that I have been given, and all that will be required of me, I often pray “Lord, make me ashamed of now what I will be ashamed of on that day, the day I stand before you”.

Also, in an age of individualism I must be reminded that God has given to each one of us a measure of ‘influence’ on others. One of the scariest and sobering thoughts I have is; how have I influenced others? Influence is multi-faceted and multi-generational, how we influence others goes out from us like tree branches spreading in every direction.

18tree-600.jpg

Will my influence on others; my wife, son, family, friends, the brethren, coworkers, unbelievers etc – be for good or ill.

How has my life and influence effected them? Has it been an influence toward righteousness or sin?

What impact will my influence have on them and the decisions they make?

How will my influence on them – influence them toward their family, friends, the brethren, coworkers, unbelievers etc.

And all this for generations?

And I will give an account for all this too…

If the old saying is true that “no man is an island unto himself” then surely we need to cry out to the living God for His grace to enable us to lives of Holiness…

Lar

4 Responses

  1. Lar,

    There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.

    These are good thoughts and these things should motivate us to holy living, but don’t forget that when you face the judgment your verdict is alway NOT GUILTY in Christ Jesus.

    The glory and grace of the cross of Christ removes all guilt. This is the great exchange through faith I receive Christ’s perfect righteousness because on the cross he bore my sin.

    O the grace and love of Christ that would take my sin away and wash me clean.

    Soli Deo Gloria

  2. My dear brother Steve,

    I know you are trying to encourage me, thank you!

    However,

    I take the orthopraxic warnings “to believers” in the NT very seriously, frankly they have driven me to my knees and driven much sin out of my life.

    I by no means cheapen warnings like:

    Therefore we make it our aim, whether present or absent, to be well pleasing to Him. For we must “all appear before the judgment seat of Christ”, that “each one” may receive the things “done in the body”, according to what “he has done”, whether “good or bad”. Knowing, therefore, the terror of the Lord, we persuade men 2 Cor 5:9-11

    …..of which I tell you beforehand, just as I also told you in time past, that those who “practice” such things will not inherit the kingdom of God. Gal 5:19-21

    Do not be deceived, God is not mocked; for whatever a man “sows”, that he will also reap. For he who sows to his flesh will of the flesh reap “corruption”, but he who sows to the Spirit will of the Spirit reap everlasting life. Gal 6:7-8

    Therefore gird up the loins of your mind, be sober, and rest your hope fully upon the grace that is to be brought to you at the revelation of Jesus Christ; as “obedient children”, not conforming yourselves to the former lusts, as in your ignorance; but as He who called you is holy, you also be holy in all your conduct, because it is written, “Be holy, for I am holy. And if you call on the Father, who without partiality judges according to each one’s work, conduct yourselves throughout the time of your stay here in fear 1 Pet 1:14-17

    Also see:

    Mat 7:21-27, 12:36-3, 50, 18:35, 25:14-30, Luke 8:14, 12:35-48, 13:22-28, John 15:2-6, Rom 2:1-11, 11:20-22, 1 Cor 5:9-10, 1 Cor 10:1-12, 2 Cor 7:1, Eph 5:3-7, Hebrews chapters 3-4, 6 and 10, James 1:21, 2:14-26, 2 Peter 1:9-11, 2:20-22, 3:17, 1 John 1:6, 2:29, 3:3-15, 5:2, 5:18, Jude:4-5, Rev Chapter 2-3, 19:8, 22:14-15

    And If you love Me “keep my commandments”…

    The word of God forces believers to live between the “tension” of forgiveness of sin and a faith that produces godliness.

    “Positional righteousness” that leads to antinomianism is an anathema according to the scriptures…

    Lar

  3. Larry,

    What is the most oft given command in Scripture by God? “Fear not!” Remember that the condition most often given to those who are in Christ to obtain these blessings is “He who abides to the end shall be saved.” So abide in Christ! “For I am confident of this very thing, that He who began a good work in you will perfect it until (a)the day of Christ Jesus,” (Phil 1:6).

    “’Positional righteousness’ that leads to antinomianism is an anathema according to the scriptures…” But Larry so is any vestiges of self-righteousness. We depend wholly on the righteousness of Christ for our justification before God. “For it is God who is at work in you, both to will and to work for His good pleasure,” (Phil 2:13)!

    Simul justus et peccator! As Luther well said, the only thing we bring to our justification is our sin which God freely forgives!

  4. Dave, Thank you too for your words of encouragement, and I say amen to your response!

    However, I never want to be lax, or presumptuous. I hold these warnings up to myself as a reminder to, abide and persevere, remember “to him who overcomes” (only by grace is this even possible)

    As I run the race, (by the Grace of God) these warnings prod me to persevere onto the reward.

    As I said:

    Surely we need to cry out to the living God for His grace to enable us to lives of Holiness

    And

    The word of God forces believers to live between the “tension” of forgiveness of sin and a faith that produces godliness.

    Would you agree that the “fear of God” and these “warnings”are also, a means of grace, prodding us to persevere by the grace of God?

    I really love my Lord so very much (because of His grace to a wretch like me) and I fear him, He is a great God who worthy of my fear!

    As it was said of Aslan, he is good and just and loving, but he is by no means safe…

    I don’t want to be that “lazy slothful” servant who hid hid his talent – I am reminded that to him who is given much, much will be required. In light of these admonitions, on that day, I want to hear well done good and faithful servant!

    As for self-righteousness; all I am, if there is any good that I have become, all of it is because of His Grace. Ultimately when I do stand there before my maker, I will only give back what he has given to me.

    As Augustine said, Give what thou commandest and command what thou wilt.

    Lar

    ’Twas grace that taught my heart to fear,
    And grace my fears reliev’d;
    How precious did that grace appear,
    The hour I first believ’d!

    Thro’ many dangers, toils and snares,
    I have already come;
    ’Tis grace has brought me safe thus far,
    And grace will lead me home.

Leave a Reply

